Three departments merge into one-stop-shop for workplace safety

NT Employment Minister Syd Stirling has announced the Electrical Safety Board and the Mines Safety Unit will be merged with NT Worksafe, providing one Government body dedicated to work safety issues.

“The new NT Worksafe will be a one-stop-shop for Territorians, with a dedicated office for all safety issues – be they electrical, mining or workplace," Mr Stirling said.

Mr Stirling said the NT Worksafe and Electrical safety functions would be merged immediately, while the Mines Safety Unit would follow suit in 12 months time to ensure there is plenty of time for a smooth transition, consultation and legislative amendments.

In the meantime, Mr Stirling said the Work Health Act and Mines Management Acts will be rewritten to reflect the new arrangements, with the revised Work Health Act to include tougher penalties for breaches of occupational health and safety regulations.

1 September, 2006


We welcome your feedback

Hi there! We want to make this site as good as it can for you, the user. Please tell us what you would like to do differently and we will do our best to accommodate!

Protected by FormShield

We've updated our Privacy Statement, before you continue. please read our new Privacy Statement and familiarise yourself with the terms.